Pictorial Allsorts

By calvininjax

Door & Balustrade

My intention today was to head for the St Johns River and see if I could replicate a shot I took last week. I thought it wise to take a few shots along the way in case the river shot did not turn out as well as expected.

This door and balustrade have been featured before but not with the Ricoh GRD III camera or its High Contrast B&W mode. I really am taking to this mode. First, as I think you have probably gathered, I like B&W shots; second, it saves me the time and trouble of converting RAW shots to B&W.

The river did turn out to be a bit of a disappointment. It was flat calm and the sparkles of sunlight on the water that I was seeking were sadly absent. So it was a good job that I took this back-up shot.

I fear I am beginning with a nasty virus that is doing the rounds among Jacksonville folk. My wife started with it last Tuesday and was in a bad state Saturday and Sunday. Yesterday was virtually a sneezathon on her part, sneezing every couple of minutes.

The virus reportedly lasts 10 days. It is billed as being worse than a cold but not quite as bad as the flu. So it looks like I will have a fun time ahead.

I suppose that I cannot complain too much because my last cold/flu was in October 2008. I knew my good run would come to an end at some point and it seems it has. The shares of the makers of Vicks DayNurse/DayQuil and NightNurse/NightQuil look set to rise. :-)

PS It wasn't until I read the comments that I realized this shot is my 300th blip. I knew it was fast approaching but thought it was tomorrow. Ooops!

I had better get in touch with the Blue Angels and tell them to cancel the flight over my house and sky-writing "300" in red, white and blue. :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.