Northern Exposure

By Northern

A gift

Somedays my life is a bit unpredictable... ach, who am i kidding, most days are. Today was one of those days. Power went down on ours and the neighbouring island around 7.45am.

Breakfast was had by candle light. Dropped Campbell off at school, came home, lit the fire then ground to a halt... no electricity, no work! My computer just stared at me with empty eyes. Phones down (linked to the electricity supply, I assume because they are cordless) and I'd forgotten to charge my mobile. Ooops, cut off from the world.

I didn't worry too much, the power rarely is off for very long. Made use of the time and sketched out some ideas for a job I'm just starting work on but I finished that in a couple of hours. Had a wee snooze (lack of caffeine!)... what next....

... the postie arrived! In amongst the post was a slim package just for me. A good friend had sent me this wonderful little book.

As you can see from the post-it-note, she'd been reading my blip. This is something I can't get used to. I have to remind myself that not only do all the crazy blippers read my mad ramblings but a lot of folk dip in and out because they know me and want to make sure I'm misbehaving. So when I talk to friends and they tell me 'Oh yes, I saw on blip about that' it still freaks me out a bit, but in a good way.

Anyway, I promptly sat down and devoured this little gem from cover to cover. It has to be one of the best things I've ever read. Funny, sad, bizarre, really well written! And the wonderful reminder of letting a mad duck join your family.

Thanks Jan. It was the perfect present. xxx


Oh, and the power came back on around 4pm. So I managed to get an ad off in time to meet a deadline and we had hot food for dinner. Phew!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.