Iconoclastic.

Lots of bangs, pops and whistles outside. Very quiet and still in the house. All a little bit shocked I think. This time last year we were at the bonfire at Piperdam. This time last year we were warming ourselves by the fire and the son and I sneaked round the back to the side of the loch to get a better view.

Tonight, the syringe driver is still up and running. At least he's stopped being so sick and he is a bit more settled. However, with the mood of celebration removed, Guy Fawkes night reminds me of the kind of iconoclasm we saw after the invasion of Iraq. Don't know if that's right or fair, but tonight it doesn't matter. That's just what it feels like.

I do hope that everyone has fun though.

PS The image has no relation to any of this - it's the only thing I could be bothered taking a picture of tonight.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.