Moments

By togrrrl

Standing in the Shadows

At work I saw the light of the setting sun reflected in the mirrored towers of the city. Golden light streamed through the trees almost bare of leaves and through the venetian blinds. As the wind ruffled the trees the light rippled like water on the wall. A few minutes later the wall was gray and featureless - an ordinary office wall once more.

I found it stunningly beautiful. Like an illusion, a mirage of a mysterious glowing land beckoning a parched office worker with promises of freedom and adventure.

My approval rating at work is at an all time high, I had lunch and a photo shoot excursion with a dear friend, I've gotten wonderful and unexpected feedback on my photos like yesterday's where I pushed my boundaries. (Thank you, thank you.)

But at the end of the day I got not so great news from my son about his marks and it's back to reality. I'm disappointed. This is hard for me and him. I just want his life to be perfect and trouble free. Is that too much to ask? (yes, I know it is).

So, now that I've ranted, I'll pull myself together, find out what's going on, make a plan and cook a lot of meat and potatoes for him.

We all do the best we can. The light comes and goes and comes again.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.