CleanSteve

By CleanSteve

For dear Doug

I went on location today. It required a 5am start, a journey to Heathrow in another stormy deluge, a rendezvous with Georgia and Neil, and then a dash to celebrate Remembrance Day at 11am, here at Stonehenge. The wind was driving the rain, but it kindly slowed for us, just as we arrived. I just about managed to grab this memento for Doug, after the silence.

Georgia is the daughter of a very old friend of mine, Doug Harlow, who I met in Crete in 1972. He lived with us back in England and then stayed for some years in Lincolnshire. I haven't seen him since about 1976, and have never met Georgia before. She and Neil are staying for a couple of days, before they wander across Europe to Greece in the next month. I thought a detour to Stonehenge and Avebury might be a good first taste of England. Others may disagree.

I'm going to have a snooze, as it has been a long, but fun day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.