From Dawn to...

By DawnCHS

Hello, my name is Poppy

Poppy came from a local rescue centre a long time ago, when she was a lot less 'distinguished' than she is now; she was skinny and timid and did not know how to play fetch the stick or know what to do with a ball. Even though it must be at least 8 years ago, she still forgets that she is not starved when it comes to feeding time, that she has no reason to be scared when she passes a large vehicle, or that she will not be locked up if she sees a chain.

Poppy is the most affectionate girl in the world, she would spend all day and all night (with the exception of dinner time) attached to Jane, who she has a special love for and just loves to be tickled, talked to, fussed over or petted.

Poppy has the ability to remind me how lucky I am. Maybe she is not red and worn on my lapel, but nevertheless she can still remind me that an entire generation of men and women made sure that I have everything I need in life; a home, food and the ability to exist in a safe environment, where I am free.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.