Gillipaw's Journal

By Gillipaw

Remembrance Day 2010

I sang in the choir at a Remembrance Service. One of the lines of the anthem There's a wideness in God's mercy has stayed with me all day : There is no place where earth's sorrows are more felt than up in heaven.

The hymn - O God, our help in ages past, the readings, the address, the prayers, The Last Post, Silence, Reveille, and then the Flowers of the Forest bagpipe lament.

I thought about ASG and all his mates out in Afghanistan and I remembered my friend the Brigadier, mentioned here,. Tonight I looked back at my blip from a year ago and thought about how war has impacted my family.

They shall not grow old as we who are left grow old.
Age shall not weary them, nor the years condemn.
At the going down of the sun, and in the morning,
We will remember them.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.