Roly's Life

By Roly

Silence

Yesterday I decided to start my Christmas cakes so put the fruit in to soak.

I am glad I did as today started off vile. Strong winds and horizontal rain as I walked to school - bluergh! After a brief diversion in M&S cafe chatting to some retirees I met there yesterday, Reddy and I went onto toddlers.

At 11 we attempted the 2 minute silence and had a degree of success, if you ignored Holly banging a plastic kettle repeatedly and Reddy dragging a chair across the floor to try and reach some pictures on a wall...

As it was still grey, wet and windy I decided to borrow Ben's car to collect Lil and we took shelter at home. As Reddy slept and Lil (unfortunately) dozed in front of the TV, I got on with the baking.

By the time both cakes were in the oven it was time for the third and final school run of the day - and the sun had finally appeared. What a difference that makes.

Every year we go through the same conversation with Bella and Ally about Remembrance Day - next year I suspect Lily will join in. But I don't mind one bit. We will remember them.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.