Pip's Pics

By pipspics

Remembering...

Today I am remembering my Grandfather (Papa), Lieutenant Ron Hibbard, who fought in the 2nd World War. He was a Lieutenant in the Royal Engineers (pictured here in the middle of the front row with his hands on his knees). My mum also has a copy of this picture in her bathroom. Just above it is another picture of my Grandfather in a school photograph taken just 6 years before this one. It is truly sobering to see them together and think that just a few years before this one was taken, he was just a child in a playground.

As others have said today about their relatives, it was something he never spoke of, and I wish I'd asked him about it more about it when he was alive. I think what these men went through in the 1st and 2nd World Wars is something we can never truly comprehend. All we can do is remember them, and hope we never have to repeat what it is that they endured on our behalves. I have nothing but admiration for our servicemen today.

Here's to you Papa.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.