Annie's In Oregon

By anniescottage

Heritage

There was a lumber mill very near here. It barely stood when I was young, but it's gone now. I sat on the rocks near the dock trying to imagine what it was like when workers came and went many years ago. Mom's family lived just up the hill about a block or so away. Dad's, pretty close also. They fished, caught crab, dug clams, worked and played on the bay.

Today, when I arrived, I found an old friend, now jobless, therefore homeless. He called my name when he saw me get out of my car. We shared a hug and a word or two of encouragement. Last I had spoken with him, he was working and giving away food in a food bank at a Church. Ironic. Today we talked of how Jesus used to sit around a fire on the beach with his disciples and cook what they caught from the sea, like he and his friends were doing. He was homeless too. It was the simple gospel. Being grateful for the gift of forgiveness and the food from the sea. He said he loved his new front yard. As you can see, it's a beautiful yard. I'll be praying that Woody finds work soon and a roof over his head. There are a lot of "Woodies" out there who are kind and friendly but don't have work and don't have a home. Tonight, I will be grateful for mine and hopeful for his.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.