TeeJay

By TeeJay

Lewis Pass Road

It used to be that mine was the only family birthday in November, then my sister had two of her children on the 8th and 9th respectively (no, they're not twins - some years between them), and my bother's youngest was born on the 14th - so I shared MY month with a nephew and two nieces. As if that weren't enough, my grandson, who was due in February came early on the 8th November last year (thus sharing his birthday with my 24 year old nephew) and then said nephew's daughter, who was due on the 8th, was born on the 11th. So now we have birthdays on the 8th, 8th, 9th, 11th, 15th, and then mine later in the month. It makes for a busy time of year.

Anyway, because of Sebastian's (Grandson) and Marley's (great niece) birthdays I went to Christchurch today - took off from work early to go over and have my grandson for the night as my treat for not seeing him on his birthday earlier in the week, and to go to Marley's birthday party. Unfortunately Sebastian is sick and so, although I spent some time with him, it was better to leave him with his Mummy for the night.

All of that is just the reason that I was heading to Christchurch and stopped on the Lewis Pass road just before Maruia Springs to take this photo. I've always loved the way these beech trees meet overhead through this stretch of road. One day I will pass through when the light rays are shafting through and I'll get that photo, but for today the sun wasn't on the right angle for that.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.