Unexpectedly Good

A good day all around. My daughter finished her first week at her new school and seems to have make the transition quite smoothly. I've adjusted to my new, shorter work schedule. The sun came out, and it felt almost like a spring day. It was so nice, my daughter never thought once to ask if she could watch television, and she spent much of the afternoon making chalk drawings on the driveway and playing in the sandbox.

We also saw lots of wildlife today. I saw a beaver swimming in the pond this morning, the great blue heron was out there fishing, and loads of ducks and geese were out there, too. A deer came down for water at one point in the afternoon. We also found a a salamander, and saw all the usual birds at the feeder, including a pair of downy woodpeckers and a red-breasted nuthatch which I'd never seen at our feeder until just this fall.

An unexpectedly good way to end an unexpectedly good week.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.