Jess & Molly Law

By jml

Climb every mountain

Molly is funny with toys. Throw one, and she will chase it; but as soon as she reaches it, she has no more interest.

On land, of course, I can go and pick it up again. At the waterside is different - I have lost several toys because she will not 'fetch'!

This time, I tied one to a washing-line. Initially, her reaction was the same. The difference being that when I started to retrieve the toy by hauling it back in, she would grab it and hold on like grim death. Of course, if I let the rope go slack, she let it go again.

This made an excellent game from the top of the pier. We played for a long time like this, and I don't know who enjoyed it most!

So I decided that I was not going to let the rope go. And Miss Molly made the same resolution! She was already several feet up the side of the pier when I realised that I should not have been so stubborn. If she had let go and fallen from there, she could have hurt herself - if I slackened the rope, I risked exactly that. So I hauled her to the top as quickly as I could, and Mrs jml spent the rest of the afternoon telling me how stupid I had been.

I agreed with her; but I'm not sure if Molly did.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.