The Underground Tour

By undergroundtour

Old School Logo

This sticker is on the office door of one of the professors in the Geosciences department, and I think of it as old school in two ways... its the old school version of the Apple Computer logo which changed about 10 years ago to the less colorful white apple logo.... and its the logo of my first computer an Apple II+ that we bought in 1981, when I was 11 years old. :-)

I grew up with Apple Computers, the II+ in elementary school, the IIe in college, even today I have a iBook G4 that I post these pictures from. Never owned a PC, I'm an Apple nerd to the core.

This logo was designed in 1976 by Rob Janoff who does corporate logos, the bitten apple to represent the acquisition of knowledge...and supposedly the rainbow was added to represented the Apple superior color display output at the time. Some people have suggested that the bitten apple was in honor of Alan Turing, the famous cryptologist/mathematician who committed suicide by eating an apple laced with cyanide... but most people think that's just a good story.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.