pooba.gingernut

By QuerkyPoo

YOUNG FANTAIL

Some know I have bred Fantails since I was 7 - They are popular throughout the world being imported into NZ around 100 years ago. The fantail has developed by selection from the rock pigeon ( columbia livia ) and like a lot of pigeon breeds have been bred to a man-made standard.

A lot of people are surprised by the stance of this pigeon as it throws out its chest holding its neck and head in the position you see. The standard calls for a round body similar to a baseball and being a fantail the tail should be prolific.

I bred this bird this season and it is now about 4 months old. It will stand well in next years show.

We often joke that there are both leg men and breast men in the pigeon breeding world - as some birds highlight the leg conformation and others the chest. what does this make me ??

I guess I'll get a bit of stick over this one. chancy business ???

rgds pooba.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.