Through my lens, Willis

By Willis

Waiting Your Turn in Line for Gas

Some people take all day filling their trucks...

Nice cloudy overcast Sunday everyone.

Enlarge


Caution Tech Stuff and Fun Story:

Today's little tale started as a small 3" plastic model. I shot it on some black cloth and then knocked it out.

I then went to my local gas station for a fill-up but before doing that I shot myself with a timer against my car. The camera was on a tripod facing me and the empty gas pump. Not more than a minute into this shooting setup, a Middle Eastern Manager comes running out of the store yelling "what are you doing?" After explaining what I was doing he looked confused, turned around and went back in. I finished my shoot, pumped my gas and split.

Back home I picked the best shot from the location and married the truck with it. Using some image distortion tricks with the "free transform" command in Photoshop I fixed some of the look angles of the truck. From there I added the drop shadow under the truck with a soft edge black paint brush set to about 25% opacity in a new layer below the truck.

After removing some power lines I cropped the image. Then it was flattened and a blur layer was added. I sharpened the original bottom image and saved my work. Enjoy...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.