Abstract Eyes

By abstracteyes

'Salt Slick'

My Dad loves a story. He actually lives for a story and will tell it over and over again. Each time with more excitement and detail than the last. He recently returned from a road trip vacation to and from Texas. Helping a good buddy of his move some family belongings back to California. I emailed my friend 'Occhi Verdi' and asked her to recommend some Texas restaurants and her return email mentioned over a dozen 'must see' places.

Salt Lick. According to my Dad and Occhi Verdi, this is one of the best BBQ restaurants in all of Texas. The coincidence here is that my Dad had heard about this place before I even mentioned it to him (thanks to O.V's recommendation). He ate about five portions too many but enjoyed every single second of it. When he returned home, he showed off the photos of the loaded grill that he took with his iphone. We ALL saw the photos multiple times. He could not contain his excitement. He texted us the photo at the time and has continued texting the same photo. I think that 'Salt Lick' has a fan for life.

So this morning, I ran down the stairs to find my Dad proudly wearing his Salt Lick T-Shirt. They are here for my daughter's birthday weekend and he wore the shirt today like a trophy. You think I am exaggerating. But those who know my Dad, they know that I am not. When he is in a new phase, he LIVES the phase. And good ol' Texan BBQ has been his phase for the last two weeks. And the funny thing about my Dad is that he referred to 'Salt Lick' as 'Salt Slick' all day. Even though he wore the name on his shirt. I laughed all day listening to him refer to the name, wrong, but so right in his own mind.

Of course, I dedicate today's blip to my Dad. I love him so much and continue to realize how similar our personalities are. Sometimes I think that we are exactly alike. I love him for that. I love knowing why I am the way I am. I have a lot of my Mom in me too, but A LOT of my Dad. I love you both!!

And I must also dedicate this blip to Occhi Verdi. The first friend that I have ever met through the internet. A fellow blipper who began following my blips early on and always left such encouraging and personalized comments. I really think that my self-esteem and confidence as a photographer grew because of her. Thank you for making such an impact on my photography Liz. Occhi Verdi, we will enjoy a couple cups of coffee and pound the streets with our cameras in January. I can't wait to meet you even though I already feel like I know you. Thank you for always being you. This blip's for you.........Arrivederci my friend........

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.