Wendy's World

By Wendles56

Letter from the Commons

Some months ago whilst watching Breakfast TV I was moved to write to my MP and the new leaders of the ruling party(ies) after an interview in which some financial expert complained that the financial talent of this country would go abroad if they did not get their bonuses this year. He said that an annual salary of £100 000 was 'relatively low' so they had to work the market to make extra. He did correct the 'low' pretty quickly but it was still out there. The day before the focus had been on the threat to public sector pensions. To give him his due my MP replied promptly reassuring me that he had passed on my letter (a description of my ordinary life) to the person who could respond to my concerns. That response came today and I picked it up on my return from school after a 14 hour shift. I didn't learn anything new from its contents.
The intention of my letter was to draw their attention to ordinary people such as me who generally work hard, obey the law, bring up responsible kids and don't want much other than to look forward to some comfort in retirement.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.