"to notice"

By mnaylor

Il y a cinq minutes de sol et

There were 5 minutes of sun and I quickly shot a few photos, snap, snap, snap. The geometry of the shadows on the cement is something I seem to return to.

When the sun surfaces for only 5 minutes in a day, I often think of a story I saw on PBS once when my daughter was small. It featured a little boy on a planet far from earth. He had a memory of time on earth, and of the sun. He told all the children about the sun and its magical warmth and light. The sun was set to cast itself on this planet for a brief time, and this little fellow, so excited and with some knowledge, was locked in a basement by his playmates as a mean prank. The sun came out, all the gardens unfolded, and he never witnessed any of this. It was the one of the saddest stories I have ever seen - sometimes our brief sun bursts often have me think of it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.