Crunchity

By crunchity

Sleepier

Just off the Caledonian Sleeper, it gets in so early I have the time for a coffee and a surf of the net. I took this shot before repairing to the bar last night - essential if you are going to have a good night's sleep. If you don't, you find yourself shunting in a siding somewhere between waking and sleep, between Carlisle and Crewe...

The first time I took the sleeper, I walked around the rest of the day as if I was on a sea going liner - the movement of the train stayed with me all day.

The journey I would love to take is the London to Fort William sleeper, waking up and having breakfast on the West Highland Line - one of the greatest railway journeys of the world. My grandfather met a guy on Suilven once who had ben at the Proms at the Albert Hall the night before, drove his car on to the train and was walking in the highlands early the next day. How civilised - they should bring the car coaches back.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.