OrcadesDays

By Orc2009

Rainbows on the Sound of Eynhallow

I started a walk from Evie village to Tingwall, but the wind was fierce. According to the Met Office it was 31mph gusting to over 50. Felt more like 50 gusting to 80.
I didn't get the opportunity to frame this...it was there and gone. When I got to the Broch of Gurness, I found a corner of thesite to shelter and make coffee. I mused on how, 2000 years ago, the residents probably sat, on as stormy a day as this, and looked over the Sound of Eynhallow while drinking their French Roast coffee.

It was obviously going to get worse around the corner of Aiker Ness and into The Mello, so I took the easy option and turned around. Birds were struggling; a raven was blown past like a black rag, red-breasted mergansers fished the stormy waters and a lone snow bunting kept just out of range, trying to keep a low profile rather than rising up and being whirled out over the Sound.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.