Carter Smith

By cartersmith

Remembering Summer

A simple shot with meaning today... I often find that people get too distracted by trying to either obsess over what the photography textbooks say looks good or worrying about adding lots of complex elements to the composition. The essence of photography is telling a story within the confines of a frame, not overwhelming the viewer with a photograph full of technical details and design guidelines. Guidelines are guidelines and they need not be over used. The simplest shots are often the most visually appealing and more often then not they tell a more meaningful story too. With that I urge you to take simpler photos so you can fully understand them, once you can tell a story with a simple photograph, then move on to the more complex and planned out captures.

The Story in my Photograph: This is a miniature version of the large lobster pot buoys that are everywhere where my summer home is in Maine, USA. Every single lobsterman has his own distinct design on his buoys so he can easily identify them. This is a small one that Is always on this window. It always reminds me of the summer and it helps relax me from the stresses of daily life. The fact that it is in front of the window reminds me of the sun and outdoors, two very important parts of my summer. When I lokk at this buoy I can hear waves crashing against the dark rocks at the beach and I can see the gulls soaring high on the ocean winds.

Well Anyways thats all for now...

Carter

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.