RW's Daily Exposures

By rwsphotography

Battalion Chief

This photo was taken at a fire house in downtown San Jose. K, the Battalion Chief shared the history of the station with me. I was interested in taking a photo of the bell which is a monument to fire fighters who have lost their lives in the line of duty. He was happy to provide himself as part of the image. The bell has a date of 1854, which makes the original fire house in San Jose one of the oldest in the nation.

As I've said before in other shots of fire equipment or fire fighting; these are the true heroes who put their lives on the line each time that fire alarm rings. I'll be doing more work with this fire station in the future.

The plaque above the bell has the names and dates of the fallen fire fighters from San Jose.

I apologize that it's a bit noisy, but I shot it without flash in very low light. ISO 800 with a Leica VLUX. I don't offer it large because the names and K's information shouldn't be on the Net. Thanks for understanding.

Be Well, be Safe, and be Happy these folks are around...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.