Annie's In Oregon

By anniescottage

Blip Where You're Planted

What do they expect? Usher a blipper into a little exam room and tell her the doctor will be with her in a "moment" (just a routine checkup) then don't return for a realllly long time....what's a blipper to do?

Of course she'll pull out her camera and take pictures of the tongue depressors and hope she doesn't get caught! Speaking of depressors, this was an opportune time to do a little more work on the old attitude about the holidays.

Asked myself some questions...what do you like about the holidays?
...the colors, the pretty shiny things, the look of a perfectly spread table and the smell in the room when holiday spices are cooking away.
...I like warm friendly greetings, both giving and receiving them, spontaneous donning of mittens, scarves and caps to go caroling, brisk walks in crisp weather looking at shiny things, laughter.
...I like sitting around a table playing games and laughing and eating popcorn.
...I like watching Frosty the Snowman, Rudolph the Red Nosed Reindeer or A Charlie Brown Christmas while sipping cocoa and smelling wonderful food cooking.
...I like being quiet and resting. I like listening to the sounds of the season and being ready when someone needs a good listener because they've had a rough time this year.

So, what's the problem? I have spent so many years scurrying around buying, wrapping and mailing presents, writing cards, decorating my house and working for a living, going to "holiday parties" and hoping to get it all done so I could breath and do the things mentioned above, only to wake up Christmas morning and realize there isn't much time left and I'd better start enjoying the holidays.

I want to BE the present this year. I want to give the gift of myself, my time, my energy, my full attention to the ones who really need it and want it this year. I don't want to disappoint anyone, as impossible as that is during the holidays. For those who need a little wrapped gift, I want to pray there will be one in my hands at the right time and in the right place. For those who are looking, needing something different, I want to be sensitive to give what it is they need. I want to be open to receive all the love and kind wishes that are sent my way with gratitude. I want to spread the Gospel of Peace and make a positive difference in the world. Perhaps it is my expectations that make this a difficult time of year, or the sadness in my heart on Christmas Day when I realize that I missed the season again. Still committed to believing this year will be new. Each day, one at a time, will count.

..."Well hello there, how are you feeling today?" Fine, doctor, I'm going to be just fine.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.