Dodge'y Blips

By RachelD

Swaddled safely in the arms of the leaves.

being a mum of a 14 year old is just as stressful as holding a newborn baby in your arms I think.

The whole wanting to protect them, continue to hold them close, swaddle them up etc. In reality this can not happen. Teenagers need space to grow but I also believe they need boundaries and of course they will push them, of course they will say hurtful things. I think the key to being a good parent is to stand by those rules and take those hurtful words with a pinch of salt. I also believe its good for them to see you cry and see you're only human too.

Mistakes? we all make them huh Teenagers more than adults why? because we learn by our OWN mistakes and I secretly hope my girls have listened to the mistakes I have made in life and will take them into consideration when choosing their own ways.

How much freedom is it really safe to allow a 14 year old now a days? This week I've had a battle with my 14yr old over internet safety and parent control/supervision. I don't mind them sitting using their PC?s without me spying on them as they would call it but I do insist on the locks being in place etc. I also talk/ask them often what they are up too just to make conversation really, to be part of what they are up too. I remember all too well the curiosity of things (mostly sexual around this age too, but we never had the internet then so it wasn't so easily sort out) but there are some things I don't wish those under 18 to see, HECK there is some things I wouldn't want to see now even after having 4 children. Which is why I insist on these precautions to be in place on her pc. I hope one day its not me being nosey but just trying to keep her innocent like she should be at 14 that little bit longer.

I don't know if this comes across as me being a very over protective mum or not, myself and my daughters haven't really had an easy ride of things but we get there. I have come along way in the last few years with the help of my new dh, keeping me sane when they are 30 mins late home from school etc.. lol I'm even allowing this said 14 year old to go to France and Belgium on a school trip next month (3-4 years ago this would have been a stern NO, noway, not even considering it, I am nervous a bit but then I guess every mum will be.)

I'm sorry I've babbled on today just I think its rather fitting with my picture today, Seeing the raindrops nestled in the arms of the leaves was like they were protecting them falling, breaking and making their own mistakes.

I hope all of blip world are having a good day.

Rachel. xx

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.