Looks Good To Me

By Pilipo

The Watershed Bell

The weather forecast was grim. A large mass of high-pressure cold air is headed our way from Canada, with a high probability of snow. The tires on our snow car (a 1991 Isuzu Trooper) didn't have very much tread left, so I went to get them replaced this morning. A lot of other people had the same idea. I was told it would be 4 to 5 hours before the car would be ready. Even though I had a good book to read, I didn't feel like staying there that long. It looked as if C was going to have to come and get me, but just then, my friend Wendy called me and asked if I would come and take some photos at the unveiling of a sculpture. I said I'd do it if she came and picked me up. It sounded like a bliportunity to me!

The sculpture is the latest addition to the Salmon Art Trail, a project Wendy has been very active in promoting. Here are a couple of excerpts from her press release for today's event.

The Watershed Bell is a 300-pound silicon bronze bell, which was created by notable Northwest sculptor Tom Jay and was donated to the City of Bellingham by local sculptor Ann Morris. The sculpture celebrates salmon as the keystone species of the Northwest forest ecosystem. Embossed on the bell are images of salmon and the words "OUR SIMPLEST WISDOM IS TO FOLLOW THE SEA-BRIGHT SALMON HOME". The Watershed Bell can be found along the south side trails of Whatcom Creek in Maritime Heritage Park, between Holly and Dupont Streets."

Ann Morris commented on her donation to the City, "Tom Jay's Salmon Bell has been evolving over the years and was to come to my studio grounds.  It occurred to us both simultaneously that the bell belonged in a more public place and adjacent to the returning salmon which the bell celebrates.  Now at the height of the Chum salmon run, the bell will be unveiled, and ring in the return of the salmon to the people and the forests of Bellingham.  We are both grateful that it has found its home beside Whatcom Creek."

In the photo Tom is describing the construction of the bell.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.