The Lizard Meanders

By lizardmeanders

Nocturnal Companion

Why lizards? One of my earliest entries on the blog attached to my author website, explains my fascination with this creature: http://tinyurl.com/22ns9sy

In this photo, is a recent addition to my stash of lizard collectibles. My colleague and friend at the university, Jennifer Fish, brought this handsome fellow back from South Africa recently, when she took a group of Women's Studies majors there for a service learning course.

Tonight I was at a poetry reading at the Peninsula Fine Arts Center, where I read some works alongside three other fabulous poets-- Remica Bingham-Risher, Shonda Buchanan, and Toni Wynn. The galleries next to the one we read in, were packed with people gathered for the usual art events on Thursdays; there was a buffet spread, a cash bar, and a band playing. The atmosphere was festive and lively, and though we had to work the microphone just a little bit more to register above the noise level, the audience in our gallery was the best one could hope for: attentive, and appreciative.

That all made up for the bit of adventure we had trying to get there - we thought we'd surely gotten lost in the woods; circling around in the dark for almost twenty minutes, we even saw a deer.

Back home now, I'm still trying to quiet the adrenaline... and perhaps you can tell, after my previous blipfoto post, that I tend to be a night owl anyway.

The rest of my household seems blissfully asleep. Only this little fellow is keeping me company at my writing desk.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.