Appertunity

By appertunity

Clegzilla!

There was quite a large demonstration outside Bradford town hall this lunchtime. Unison, TUC & students were demonstrating against government cuts to public services & student tuition fees.

I loved this hording on the side of this truck! Nick Clegg should be rightly lampooned for his appalling u-turn on student fees!

As a civil servant myself it is quite worrying although I can see a need for some cuts in some areas I feel the press have painted a bizarrely inaccurate picture of civil servants having huge salaries & retiring at 50 on huge pensions. This is of course bollocks. The average wage in HMRC is around £22,000 and I only just earn that after tax!

Having said that a recent documentary made a persuasive case for minimising the government & public sector (I agree if only for the fact that I abore the health & safety mad nanny state legalise drugs & let us get on with it) whilst abolishing tax for all but very high earners as was done in areas of the east (leading to a massive boom).

It appears the bigger the public sector the more industry, business & innovation suffer!

With a debt of 2.2 trillion what are we to do?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.