running towards nothing

By rtn

Wires

On Sunday I'm going to Hull, to retrace the footsteps of one of the most famous university librarians, poet Philip Larkin. I'll be gathering material for a journal article, and I started a bit of research tonight. I'm totally amazed at how much is available online - photos, a BBC Monitor programme from the 1960s, newspaper and journal articles of course, a downloadable version of a jazz compilation album and much more, including this freely available audio book of Larkin reading his own poems. He comes much more to life than just reading about him - though I'm not yet ready to agree that "books are a load of crap" as he asserted in A study of reading habits. Hope to post some photos of my trip on Sunday/Monday.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.