Viewpoint

By Viewpoint

Beach Walk! Toowoon Bay to The Entrance

Rain and a strong, cool wind greeted us in the morning as we opened the curtains. We'd already decided that this would be the day when we would do another of our favourite walks. This time along the beach from Toowoon Bay to `The Entrance'. By the time we arrived at the beach-side car-park the rain at least had stopped, though the cool wind meant we pretty quickly zipped ourselves up in our waterproof jackets. An ideal day for kite surfers, some were already out on the sea, while others wrestled with wind whipped kites on the beach as they struggled to untangle their gear.

A leisurely walk for us along the beach with lots of photo stops followed. More a case of recording memories than taking memorable photos (and I like comparing photos from previous walks). I can't walk along this beach without thinking of my mum, who is now unable to make this long flight. This walk was one of her favourite activities and we always spent a happy half hour collecting shells on the beach near the outdoor swimming pool.

Fishermen and pelicans are frequently the first thing to be seen as you near`The Entrance' and the fisherman with the yellow hat presented such an amazing photo opportunity that I even went to ask if he minded having his photo taken. The contrast of the yellow sou'wester against the grey purple sky and the deep green water was hard to resist.

If yesterdays walk was about lizard spotting today's was about bird spotting. I thought I might even be able to make a twelve days of Christmas type list but I'll spare you this. (Though I might add my list later as a personal memory - perhaps the highlight for me was the pair of Bar Tailed Godwit's - the last time I saw these birds it was on a beach in Northumberland).

I'll be offline for the next few days now as we are going to spend some time on the South Coast. J's mum has kindly offered us her house on the coast for a few days and as we've never been down there it will be a new experience for us - the mornings looking much brighter too today!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.