dailykeith

By dailykeith

Ruin

Yes, it's another ruined church and, yes, I should have waited a few days before blipping it, but this is where I found myself on my lunchtime escape from the office.

The reason I should have waited is because next Wednesday is the 70th anniversary of the night Temple Church in Bristol was destroyed by German bombs.

The church might be just a shell, but it is still an impressive sight. And the most interesting thing for me was seeing how the tower leans - it's really quite noticeable.

Apparently contruction of the tower had to be halted in 1390 when the tower started to veer off to the west. A long 70 years later, the authorities were finally happy it was stable and allowed a belfry to be added.

Soft clay is probably the reason why the tower is lop-sided, although tradition has it that the lean can be attributed to the foundations being built on wool-sacks.

Anyway, as I write this, I'm recovering from a post-work burger that was so hot it nearly melted by many silicon tooth fillings.

It was at the Gourmet Burger Kitchen and was called the 'habanero'. I like my food hot and spicy, but this was a shade too hot. Nevertheless, I still highly recommend this place - the food is delicious and filling, and comes at a reasonable price.

It's certainly a nice way to round off the working week and welcome the weekend.

As we ate, kids dressed in Harry Potter gear headed for the cinema for the new film. One lad had a magic wand - now, I could make very good use of that at the moment.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.