Baggie Trousers

By SkaBaggie

Hard Times

Difficult to ignore the rumblings in and around the university at the moment. Dealing, as I do, with a mixture of students and academics through my job, there's obvious anger in the air, not just at the ever-rising fees (after all, they've been going on for years, and were kick-started by the Labour government) but at the promises made by the Lib Dems in exchange for student votes, which are now being reneged on. There was another campus demonstration today, which I could only hear from my seat at work, but was apparently well-attended.

Several of our regulars were at the national protest last week, including one of The Glee Club, a group of senior academics who always stop in for drinks of an afternoon. At least one of the students I'm acquainted with was involved in the rioting at Millbank. There's an increasing realisation that universities are milking young people for all they can, and giving in return a hollow promise of a bright future, along with a lifetime's worth of debt.

I felt that this shirt was worthy of blipping. I know the tip of an iceberg when I see one.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.