Land of Enchantment

By Laurel

The Bell Keepers

A long day at work and no time to blip. I was stopped at the light on Rio Grande and Alameda with all the rush hour traffic. On my way to meet Joseph at the local pub.Knowing I would be there a while, I pulled out my camera and rolled down the window. Just took one photo before moving on.

Of course I had to look up the he name of the artist and the history of the sculpture. I am glad I did. I had no idea of the story behind the work of public art.

The bronze sculpture was created by Las Cruces artist Bruce Papitto. It depicts a Spanish padre and a another man carrying a church bell to safety, after rescuing it from the washed away adobe church.

So glad to know the story. I learned a lot today at work. That's the last piece of knowledge to top it off.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.