Mediterranean Wanderer

By monkeyhanger

Home.

I have been sweating and slaving over the tools for the last week or so to get the woodwork tidy ready for another season. I went for a walk to grab a chance to Blip but took a few shots of Madison looking much better after her gruelling journey from Scotland to Spain.

Treegonk had been kind enough to take some shots in the very early stages and I wanted to upload a shot of her in the water as he sadly missed the launch and subsequent departure from Troon. We found Madison in a field in Kent looking very sorry for herself after being abandoned 15 years previously. We have since poured ourselves into her and she is looking much happier now.

I find myself pointing at all sorts of boats that we have seen and saying "she looks loved". There are allsorts of shapes and styles...there is, I believe, a boat for everyone. You just need to find her.

We named the boat Madison after a nightclub in Middlesbrough where we met as students 15 years ago. We have been together ever since.

Madison is now our home, we now need to face the dilema of do we continue the journey and sell our old home in Edinburgh or do we simply see how far we can get before the money runs out and go back to...wake, eat, drive, stress, work, drive, eat, sleep, work...Blah Blah.

There are always jobs to do and books to read and meals to cook on Madison, so haven't become a lazy slob.... but I can't imagine wearing a suit again. What are ties all about?????? Who says we have to wear bits of cloth round our necks to be able to work for someone.

If I do come back I plan to work with my hands again, grow stuff and cycle. There must be jobs that don't involve cars!

T.G. I hope you like Madison and sorry you didn't get to see her going in the water.

Thanks for introducing me to this fantastic place.

K

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.