John R Smith

By chamberlainjohn

A question of language...

This is A - and you may well have seen her and her sisters appearing occasionally on schlimm's blip - she's their mum.

Anyway I saw her reading this morning. I get by in France just fine - but my German does not exist (apart from a few highly technical words.)

So when I see someone the size of A (who isn't even at school yet) happily functioning in a second language it makes me pause in wonderment. Children from bilingual houses are very lucky.

In Scotland right now there is a big push on to have Gaelic taught in more schools. (For the avoidance of doubt, Gaelic is pronounced like "garlic" without the "r", not like Gaylic.)

Perhaps it will happen - certainly Scottish Gaelic is far behind Welsh or Irish in terms of its usage. It sounds such a lovely and evocative language too.

In the meantime, we leave A to read about the farm and the train - yes, I did have to ask!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.