Arctic-Mummy's Journal

By arcticmummy

Arctic Gun Training in Wyle!

Got my times wrong, so had to rush down to Wyle for Polar training today ... luckily it was just down the A303. I arrived in time for coffee and bacon sarnies, which I declined as I had not long had my breakfast!

The training started with gun practice! First we shot some clays, which I was reasonably successful at. I started well, then my form slipped a bit as I got a little cold... I know I will have serious cold to contend with in the Arctic! We then had a go with a pump action shot gun, like the ones we will have in the arctic - this was great fun!

After an extremely good lunch, cooked by Val, of Yorkshire Stew and dumplings, followed by bread & butter pudding. we went for a romp! We were given co-ordinates for 4 check points, which we then had to navigate to with our gps, and back to base!

After our rather unsuccessful navigation round Hind Head, we made significant improvements, raced round the four points to be first back home, much to the disappointment of Jock, who had thought we would be at least one and a half hours.. Team Polar Slugs, are definitely serious underdogs to win the Polar Challenge!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.