Poor Puppy

We went to Klondyke Garden Centre today after A mentioned we were there looking at cheap Christmas tat a year ago today. ;) A year on there was in fact, still, cheap tat for sale there. However I managed to restrain myself and not buy any.

We left and as we walked over to the carpark, saw that someone had tied a little terrier up to a tree and the poor wee bugger was sitting, visably shaking with the cold in a sodden little heap up against the tree. At first look she seemed to be abandoned. It was easily 5 degrees outside and she was sitting in soaking wet grass, her hair all matted to her skin with the wet. A gave her a hug and she seemed to benefit from getting some heat so we stayed for about ten minutes, hoping someone would come out. But they didn't. So I went inside and mentioned to the manager that I didn't know if it has been left while the owners were instore, or if it were abandoned. He wasn't bothered and said he'd 'keep an eye on it'. By the time I went back out she'd stopped shivering and A was hugging her to keep her body temperature up. We waited and waited (getting more annoyed as time went on) until the owners finally showed face. Totally unbothered and as A said her body temp had been way down they just said thanks. Then I told them I didn't think a dog should be left tied to a tree in 5 degree weather in the rain. They just said thanks. They were bloody lucky I didn't have some more choice words to them but I knew getting into an argument with them wouldn't really help anyone.

You should need to take a test before owning pets or having children....honestly.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.