Club 107

By club107

Up the steps into the castle

When I was young, about knee high to a policeman, I was intrigued by this little castle thing. I must have been about 3 or 4 and I would walk my fingers up the steps as if I were going int o the castle myself. I had forgotten about this but was taking child #2 and number 1 son for a walk when I saw it. Bizarre when you think of all the coffee selling police boxes around town, even more bizarre when you think of the requirement for a police box in the past to combat crime.

'Hold on, someone has a gun and they are holding up a bank. OK, listen I shall have to go to a police box and try to phone somebody. We'll be there as soon as we can. Don't worry.'

It is very nice to come across something so familiar which brings back memories, the small things which were central to a game, or a place which marked you in one way or another. I am lucky enough to be surrounded by them, and I share them with my children, which is very nice indeed.

It was a dreich day beyond compare, but we had a good time painting, playing, avoiding the rain.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.