NYC Tribute

New York Trip Day 5 (Last Day)

I took the subway to Queens early this morning hoping to take a picture of Manhattan lit by the rising sun. I stepped out onto the deserted street and saw a row of candles and an old bouquet amid the garbage.

Someone had died. Accidentally, on purpose, a natural death? I will never know. But his or her death was not unnoticed. And tribute was paid.

This was not the area for a tourist or for photography. At least not for me alone with an expensive looking camera in an unfamiliar area. I hopped back on the subway to Manhattan and joined my sister and mother in a stroll around Central Park, 5th Avenue and the richest shops in the world. What a city of contrasts.

I'm home now, back with my family and back to my own reality. It was a wonderful trip.


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.