La vida de Annie

By Annie

Let me out

I promised boring blips and this is today's view from the "jury pool", not for swimming but a stark huge room like an airport lounge, with a tantalising glimpse of sun through metal mesh blinds, but no view except for the despairing words above which a previous desperate inmate must have scrawled in the grime. Being effectively a prisoner for the duration brought this song to mind.

I managed to get the compact through security in the morning, obviously not to use on anything sensitive, as the very nice guard omitted to check my bag properly and was more interested in complimenting me and saying I smelled nice - bless. Coming back in after lunch though, the female Hitler who replaced him had no qualms about rummaging, and confiscated it forthwith. If I want to take any pics at all I will have to go through that rigmarole each day. The entertainments are many and varied: there is the disgusting caff, a tv showing nasty daytime tv very quietly, or an old cupboard containing ancient Readers Digests, boring magazines, playing cards (some with one missing) and, bizarrely, knitting, a bonus the introductory talk was at pains to promote. Felt like being in a 50s timewarp.... On reflection (something I have had a lot of time for) I think that must be a nod to the fictional Madame Defarge, who knitted during executions...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.