WorldLens

By worldlens

Who says pies have to be round?

In preparation for a Thanksgiving meal with my team tomorrow, I made pies today. I'm the only one on the team with an oven (and I love baking), so I was voted/volunteered to make the apple and pumpkin pie. This year though, my pie baking process looked a little different than years before.

Here's an outline:
1. Go to the produce market to buy apples and pumpkin. Go to the egg stand to buy eggs. Go to the grocery store to buy milk, flour, sugar, and butter.
2. Walk home carrying everything you just bought. (Note to self: Next year plan ahead more and buy the non-perishables earlier so my arms don't feel like they are going to fall off by the time I get home.)
3. Cook the pumpkin, cut the apples, make the crust, etc., etc. Then cook both pies (in rectangle pans because that's what I have.)
5. After the pies are cool, wrap them up and head to the bus stop (I put a tray in between them so they could stack on top of each other.)
6. Carefully hold them on your lap for the hour bus ride, then balance them as you get off the bus and buy a sky train ticket. Say "excuse me" a lot as you get on the crowded sky train and try not to drop the pies.
7. A few stops later, say "excuse me" a lot again to get off the train then walk down a few streets, through another neighborhood, and down an alley to your friend's house to drop them off to be kept in the refrigerator for tomorrow.

They sure better be good after that long process! Either way, my team is worth it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.