Robbie's Roots

By robertfelton

Black Headed Gull

Brilliant weather this morning and I had to make the most of it. 20 minutes to get my blip before work so I went to Great Barford to have a look at the river Great Ouse. I took the footpath to Blunham and saw some Black Headed Gulls on the footbridge over the river. Unfortunately any sort of attempt of a capture would mean shooting straight into a bright sun. Typical, just when you don't need a bright sun, there it is - straight in the line of sight.

I crossed the bridge, the Gulls scattered and I took this image of the river from the footbridge. I carried on over the river and took the same image from a different position. I had a quick stroll upstream and could see the Gulls on a jetty on the far bank - tsk tsk - too far away!

Time was pressing so I started to make my way back, when I got to the footbridge this little beauty had taken up residence once more. The sun was now behind me and I adopted my usual strategy of shooting and moving slowly forward. I always know that the bird will take flight eventually but by adopting this method I usually end up with something usable. The Gull sat for quite a while, I got quite close and got some fairly decent images.

A quick look at the clock - woops - 5 minutes to get to work and an 8 minute journey!

Please View Large

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.