A chef's day...

By chef

Cake in the making

It is my daughter's 4th birthday soon and I am working on her cake. Last year I made a cake with miffy and friends (nijntje) made out of sugar. This year it's going to be a princess party so she has asked for a snow white cake.

After wondering for days and days how on earth I was going to make a good looking snow white out of sugar my daughter came to me and said 'actually daddy, I don't want your cake, can I have the one from Tesco?'. On the one hand I was relieved that I didn't have to make a cake which was going to take me 20 hours but on the other, I can't have her having a Tesco cake either.

So It's going to be a simple cake this year. I made these butterflies and hearts out of sugar and will use some of them for the cake and the top will be a print of snow white.

The cake itself is a Madeira cake made with vanilla sugar and layered with strawberry and rose butter icing.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.