On My Doorstep

By bwhere

Early Memories

When I was setting up my shot the day before yesterday I realised that I knew this gadget (or one very much like it*) from my early years. I knew it close up from twiddling the knurled rings at each end to change the numbers. I knew the way in which it adapted itself to different size needles. As a youngster I had played with it and studied it. Without handling it I would not have remembered.

For those who don't know, it is a knitter's row counter that fits on the end of a knitting needle.

All of which allows me to ask you, what are your earliest memories?

Did you know that there is a phenomenon called "Infantile Amnesia"? Most of what we experience up until about five is forgotten. We are left with only one or two early memories - unless we are exceptional.

* - My wife can't remember whether it came from her mother or from mine.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.