Dutch Skies

By RonBuist

Plan B

Another working day; no time for photography until the children were in bed. My idea was to return to the scene of this blip. The bridge that is blurred in the background of that blip would look really cool in the dark with the lights on it. Except... there were no lights. Maybe I've got it all wrong and the bridge has never had any lights or I did see it lit nicely before but the lights just weren't switched on. Probably the first...

Time for plan B. Except... there really wasn't a plan B. The bridge is in Groningen and since I was already there I decided to go to the city centre. Groningen has a great university and there are lots of students. Apparently, tonight there was a party of some sort and I saw lots of students dressed up in the weirdest ways: there were knights, princesses and statues walking around. For some reason the thought to switch to another lens and try to get some of these people to pose for me never entered my mind. That's what I should have done of course, but I was looking for a nicely lit place for a night shot. Tunnel vision...

I never found a location I really liked and on the location I did take some shots I never thought the composition to be anywhere near brilliant. Still, this is my offering for today. In the background is the tower of the A-Kerk. Not that bad and definitely better larger.

On the way back I kicked myself in the behind* because only then I realized what I should have done instead. Plan C was right there under my nose, but I failed to see it. Oh well, better luck next time...

* Aren't you impressed? How did I do that while driving a car?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.