MAKE IT STOP

I had half an hour to kill between going to meet Nicky after work and Nicky being ready to leave work to pop to the cinéma (The Darjeeling Limited goandseeit and then get The Life Aquatic, The Royal Tenenbaums and Rushmore out on DVD if you haven't seen them) so I had a wee trundle up and down Home Street to practise holding the camera still enough to get hand-held night-time stuff even if it means bumping up the ISO horribly for usable results at 1/40 which is about the slowest my hands can manage. My reasoning is that if I can get the 60mm steady at anywhere between f/2.8 and 3.5 depending on the focussing distance then I should be set when the 35mm f/2 arrives. Unless Parcelforce do something stupid this should hopefully be Wednesday or Thursday.

I think the blokey above was just texting or something rather than despairing at the utter horror of it all but it was a nice pose which he thankfully held long enough for me to duck and weave around for a bit until I got him and the tree in shot. I was mildly concerned that a bloke a bit out of shot to the left was a security guard who might have intervened in some way but despite being old and unfit enough to be a security guard he must just have been an ordinary employee as he didn't even glance in my direction. He was standing quite interestingly and was silhouetted against the entrance of New Uberior House but would probably have noticed if I'd deliberately taken his picture.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.