Foto Journey

By chriscb

Mermaid

It had been my intention to start Blipping (is that the correct term?) in the new year but I have never been one for new year's resolutions. Resolutions can be made at any time of year. So when I took the dog for a walk this morning I took my camera with me looking for a (relatively) decent photo to have as my very first Blip. I took pictures of a frosty Southsea Rose Garden, a macro shot of a rose, the usual beach shots, but then I saw a rare sight. Swimming just off the shore was a seal. It was only earlier this year that I saw my first ever seal off Southsea beach.

My camera is a Canon IXUS 960IS so it doesn't have a great zoom. I took a few pictures of the seal swimming just off the beach, but then it decided to come ashore. They do look ungainly out of the water. I put the dog on the lead, got as close as I could and took this shot. Yes, I am a snapper not a photographer so don't expect great things from this journal.

Seeing the seal's head as it swam about I thought, is it true that sailors used to think they were mermaids? Anyway, that made me think of this song:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4mUmdR69nbM

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.