On My Doorstep

By bwhere

Sugar, Sugar ...

I miss Waldo Pancake! Actually I miss the Puccinos coffee bar that was up the steps, nearly on the bridge, at York Railway Station. Waldo Pancake (otherwise, I believe, Jim Smith, a designer & illustrator) designed the cups and sugar packets (and other advertising material) that entertained me and friends when we met there. The coffee bar was taken over by a chain that is over represented in York. Puccinos disppeared from the area along with their very good coffee and Waldo Pancake's witticisms.

Where is the nearest Puccinos to York now and is Waldo Pancake still doing his business there, I wonder? Perhaps you have the answer to this?

Anyway, this is my complete collection of sugar packets for you to read.

You can find out more about Waldo Pancake on the internet, he seems to be hitting the big time now.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.