Dutch Skies

By RonBuist

Sunset over the Bovenrijge windmill

This afternoon I went out to practice landscape photography. I had better not bothered: snow and a grey sky make extremely dull landscapes. It could have been great if there was sun and a blue sky.

I did meet an interesting man who was looking through a huge lens. I had no clue what he was looking at so I asked him. It was a peregrine falcon and he let me look too. I was also allowed to attach my compact camera to the lens but it was impossible to get a nicely focussed shot at around 800mm focal length... I'm guessing the falcon was about 200 metres away from us. So no bird of prey for my blip...

Later in the afternoon, Sinterklaas came to visit the Widde Meuln. Nienke, Inge and Ellis had a great time and they also got some nice presents. Took lots of pictures there too and it would have been nice to show Sinterklaas as he got out of his boat and approached the windmill, but the shot you're looking at right now, of the other windmill in Ten Boer called the Bovenrijge, is the winner for today's blip. It was around sunset when the sun finally managed to break through the mist. I took this at my inlaws' back door as we got out with the girls to go to the Widde Meuln. Go large for optimal viewing pleasure.

A great Saturday so far; I hope yours is just as fabulous!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.