Swimming Against The Tide

By ViolaMaths

My Parents

Today was the start of Christmas celebrations! Yes, I know it's rather early, but this was the nearest weekend before Christmas that was available for seeing my parents!!!

Mum is super-organized with all this sort of thing, even though I haven't even started thinking of it yet. Anyway, she and Dad came down from Yorkshire today (braving the snow at their end - we haven't got more than a dusting here thank goodness) and took us out for dinner at this rather nice place. Dad and I enjoyed a pint or so of fine Hook Norton ale, Mum stuck to her usual glass of wine, and the Wonderspouse had a lemonade. We all had a starter, main course and dessert - mine was scallops for starters (a special), lamb for main course, and raspberry creme brulee for afters. Very delicious indeed!

After lunch we came home and, rather bizarrely, had Christmas parcels. The Wonderspouse and I were given some chocolate snacks and a bit of money each and there was also a present I opened to find 5 little pillows, each one filled with high-grade catnip! Everyone received theirs, and all five of our adorable felines spent some considerable time rubbing, licking and playing with their new toys!

A very pleasant day indeed!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.